top of page

Ruined by Jus Accardo

Genre: Paranormal romance

Hell is lo​​oking for a way to break loose...

Jax lost the genetic lottery. Descended from Cain, the world's first murderer, he's plagued by a curse that demands violence in exchange for his happiness. He left everything behind, including the girl he loved, but thriving on the pain of others is lonely... And it's killing him. After a series of heartbreaking losses, Samantha put rubber to pavement and headed for college as fast as her clunker could carry her. But she can't outrun her problems. When an attack at school drives her back home, she's thrown into the path of a past--and a guy--she's been trying to forget. Sam strains Jax's control over his darkness, but running isn't an option this time. Someone--or, something--followed her home from school: a ruthless monster with a twisted plan centuries in the making. Forced together to survive, and fighting an attraction that could destroy them both, Jax and Sam must stop a killer bent on revenge.

Review

So after finally having finished my University exams I now got time to start reading again: Best part of summer! I browsed through amazon and found this book: Ruined. Now, I am a big fan of paranormal romances and I usually never get tired of them even if the theme is similar but this was new… and I really really liked it.

The book begins with Jax returning to his home city after being away for three years. He walks into the restaurant where Chase (his brother) and Samantha are having dinner.

‘Jax lunged forward and knocked him out cold’ (what a start hehe)

Jax’s anger issues are not actually anger issues as we know it but inside of him lives a Demon descended from Cain. This demon feeds off fear, violent severe emotions and even lust. It despises Chase and in order to keep his family safe he decided to leave. He returns home because his uncle is dying. The real story behind the demons is revealed step by step as Jax doesn’t know a lot himself so you find out more about his family in the same pace as Jax does which is great as it keeps the suspense.

‘I inflict pain and misery and violence. I induce fear and rage until there’s nothing else left.’

I read that a lot of people had troubles getting into the story. I did not have that problem, as soon as Jax and Sam were in the car at the beginning I couldn’t put the book down. Jax intends to leave town after the incident with Chase but then finds out that Sam is in danger and several incidents make him stay for a little longer to find out who is after Sam.

‘It doesn’t work that way. This thing inside me? It’s dangerous. I can’t drag it out to do magic tricks.’

Samantha is a good soul and keeps Jax grounded. She has been attacked at college and thus decided to drop out and work in a nightclub as a waitress and cleaner instead. I did not quite understand that part because I think she would have been safer with people around her. Nevertheless, Sam was hilarious. She made me giggle a looot. She was smart, sassy, courageous, and sarcastic and she stood up for herself. Whenever Jax went all dangerous or pitied himself, Sam did not buy any of it:

‘”I don’t believe that, Jax. I don’t believe that there’s anyone who can’t be saved.” She pulled me close cradling my head against her belly. “You can be saved. I can save you.”’

She has seen the true, good person inside him who cares deeply about her and his family. Their chemistry was hot and they fit so well together, especially Sam who not once had a breakdown or doubted Jax – it was refreshing to see such a powerful heroine.

‘I couldn’t help the low moan that escaped my lips. He chuckled. “That sound...Again.” He breathed the words into the hollow of my neck. Each syllable was like a flamethrower held close to the flesh. “Do it again.” He didn’t need to ask.’ - (See what I mean?)

She took risks and pushed Jax’s limits - I loved that about Sam. ‘”You don’t know what you’re doing,” he growled… I shoved him across the hall and into the adjacent wall. “I think I do.” - (You GO girl!)

After 50% of the book hell basically breaks loose and there is so much happening, but I won’t spoil anything. There is a twist towards the end which I did not see coming – I was on the edge of my seat for the last 40% of the book, I literally could not put it down. Jax was amazing and is definitely on my list of favourite male fictional characters, he was passionate, hot and protective *swoon*…

The only things that bothered me was the lack of description (clothes, surroundings etc) and the intimacy scene. You will realise why when you read it but it has something to do with the fact that the demon is partly taking over and Sam has to accept that it’s both him and the demon as one or nothing, and it was overall just a very odd scene but that shouldn’t put you off.

It was a fantastic read, I did not regret buying it and I think I finished the book in one day. If you enjoy the good versus evil concept, demons, mythology, suspense, action and a powerful romance then this book is definitely for you.

4.5 star for Ruined. ✮ ✮ ✮ ✮ ½

P.S: OMG the ending. Jus Accardo will leave you with your mouth open. I cannot wait for the second book.

Memorable quote: 'Standing beside Rick and Chase, I’d watched the girl with the long brown hair stand eerily still. She didn’t cry. Didn’t speak. Only stood there staring at the ground as her parents were lowered into the cold, wet earth. Even then, so early in my life, I saw pieces of myself mirrored in her eyes. Lost. Alone. Separated. Ruined.'


Previous reviews

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page