top of page

Revved by Samantha Towle


Genre: Romance

Race car mechanic Andressa "Andi" Amaro has one rule—no dating drivers. With a good reason behind the rule, she has no plans on breaking it.

Carrick Ryan is the bad boy of Formula One. With a face and body that melts panties on sight, and an Irish lilt that leaves women on their knees, begging for more. He races hard and parties harder. The youngest driver to ever sign with F1, he’s still at the top of his game five years later, breaking hearts on and off the tracks.

When Andi is offered her dream job working in the glamorous world of F1, she leaves her home in Brazil, positive she can handle working for Carrick. But she’s not prepared for the off-the-chart sparks that fly the moment they meet.

Now, Andi has a crush on the one man she can’t have, and her resolve is about to be put to the test, because Carrick has decided he wants Andi, and he plans on testing her to the very limit…

Check out this awesome book trailer for Revved: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M_H9QwcpoUM

Review:

Squeeee! I have just finished this book and I absolutely loved it! I am still feeling the butterflies, the book got me so bad! This was such a great read, it was full of emotions and I just couldn’t put it down.

To be honest I have seen the book on amazon and goodreads several times in the past few months. I read some reviews about it and people criticised the book a lot for the heroine and I just did not feel like reading it at the time. I was so wrong though, I should have bought it straight away. It was so good and I am going to give the book the review it deserves.

This is a standalone romance full of angst, heartache, humor, friendship and love. There were moments I was stressed to the max while reading, but I loved every second. I fell in love with this hero and heroine and I adored their story.

Both characters were so human. The way Andressa talked and thought was so real and full of emotions. I could feel with her, every decision she made and the way she described things. It was like I was her, or standing next to her. At times it felt like she was talking to me in her thoughts, as she sometimes addresses the reader and I loved that writing style! It made the book so special.

Carrick was great (despite being an ass sometimes), definitely swoon worth fictional boyfriend material despite being an utter manwhore before he changed for her. He was emotional, fierce, driven, strong, cocky, funny, kind and a gentleman…well only sometimes...

“Exactly how did we go from me not getting involved with drivers to you and I having sex?”

“We haven't gotten to the sex yet. Trust me. When we do, you'll know.” (hehe)

I adored reading about his races and I was as stressed as Andi was. It truly felt like I was watching the races with her, hoping he would make it. What I loved most about their relationship was that they became friends first. They got to know each other, hung out and simply had fun watching movies or going out for dinner. It built up the sexual tension and it was so worth it. Their conversations had me laughing to tears at times because they were both so witty and full of humour.

“Do you want to dance?”

“Um…I don’t know. I’m not really a dancer.” And in these shoes, I’ll probably be lethal.

“Lucky for you, I’m an awesome dancer. I’ll dance for the both of us.”

Shaking my head, I laugh. “God, you’re so – “

“Good Looking? Hot?

“I was going to say cocky.”

“Endearing, isn’ it?”

The additional characters each add a layer to the feel and development of the story, showcasing the protagonist's personalities through their interactions. The subcharacters were great, especially Uncle John, Ben and Petra. I loved it when Andi went out with them, they were such good friends to her.

I don’t understand why people criticised Andi. I can tell you now that Andi makes some decisions I probably wouldn’t have made BUT she has a pretty good reason for it. Having panic attacks is not something you can criticise Andi for and accuse her for “not having tried hard enough for him” or being “silly”. Having lost her father has left a deep trauma so I completely, with all honesty, understand why she acted the way she did.

Plus, not everyone is perfect. Every person has their doubts with something, especially when it comes to a relationship and she never felt like this about anyone before. I also understand why Carrick reacted the way he did and why he was hurt. As I said, the characters reacted like anyone would have in real life... Ahhh, I just cannot give them enough credit but both of them were SO human, especially Andi’s inner dialogue was so REAL.

"Even though I really shouldn’t be doing this because no good could ever come of it, I can’t seem to find the will to stop."

That being said, it gave the book so much angst and pace, every time they were apart for a while and then encounter again was so heart-warming and…well hot. It made my heart race and they had so much passion for each other. Every move was true and honest, I could imagine every single detail the author wrote down.

I’ve said it earlier and I’ll say it again, it is full of ANGST. But it is really the best kind of angst. Your heart will break, but it will be put back together. When you’re finished reading, you’ll be on a Carrick and Andi high. I laughed, I cried, I swooned, I was frustrated. But I spent a large proportion of my reading time smiling with the warm fuzzy book feels.

By the way, can we just take a moment to appreciate this awesome cover?

It is standalone and has the perfect length of 411 pages and the ending was beautiful, so please pick it up and read it because I still cannot get over the fact that it’s over… I just want to erase it from my memory and read it again because I was pulled into the story so much. I picked up the book whenever I had a minute to spare even while walking…

Samantha Towle you have talent! I.loved.this.book. Now back to grieving because I didn’t want it to end…

Instead of 5 stars, I am going to give 5 hearts. ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Memorable quote: “Take the good with the bad. Learn to live with your fears. Because being with him…having the good, it makes the bad a whole lot better.”


Previous reviews

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page